Husker Football, Rifle Programs Among Academic Best

The Nebraska football and rifle programs were honored by the NCAA on Wednesday with public recognition for high achievement in the Academic Progress Rate. Both programs were among the top 10 percent nationally among all squads in their respective sport.

The Huskers were one of just 13 Football Bowl Subdivision programs to earn the recognition and were joined by Wisconsin and Northwestern of the Big Ten, along with future Big Ten member Rutgers. Other FBS schools to receive the public recognition included Boise State, Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech, Missouri, South Carolina, Stanford and Utah State.

Nebraska’s football program leads the nation in CoSIDA Academic All-Americans with 107 all-time, including 69 first-team selections. Under head coach Bo Pelini, the Huskers have flourished in the classroom with 11 student-athletes honored as academic All-Americans in Pelini’s first six seasons as head coach, the second most in the nation during that time period.

Pelini’s players also have an excellent track record of picking up their degree. Among Nebraska’s 23-player senior class in 2013, 19 earned their undergraduate degree before playing in the Gator Bowl on January 1st and all 23 are on track to graduate by this August. In fact, 122 of 132 players in Pelini’s first six senior classes are on track to earn their degree by the end of the 2014 UNL summer session.

This marks the second straight year the Husker rifle program under coach Stacy Underwood has received the public recognition award. Nebraska was one of only four programs to receive recognition in the Mixed Rifle category with Nevada, TCU and VMI also being honored.

The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship. The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team's academic performance. Multi-year APRs for all Division I sports teams, including the teams receiving public recognition, will be announced May 14th.