Omaha Sports Commission Awards Finalists

Published: Apr. 10, 2019 at 6:14 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The finalists have been released for the first annual Omaha Sports Commission Awards (OSCAs), which will be held May 30, 2019 at the Holland Performing Arts Center. The nominees represent numerous sports and celebrate another great year of athletics in the Omaha area. Tickets for this inspiring evening are now on sale at

Josh Todd, president and executive director of the Omaha Sports Commission, said a selection committee has identified the following finalists for the following sports categories:

Female Omaha Amateur Athlete of the Year

• Megan Carter, Diving, Omaha Marian

• Kaitlyn Hanna, Golf, Omaha Westside

• Jayme Horan, Basketball, Millard South

• Priscilla O’Dowd, Volleyball, Midland University

• Jaali Winters, Volleyball, Creighton University

Male Omaha Amateur Athlete of the Year

• James Burks, Football and Wrestling, Omaha Burke

• Rush Clark, Swimming, Omaha Creighton Prep

• Max Duggan, Football, Council Bluffs Lewis Central

• Zach Jackson, Basketball, University of Nebraska Omaha

• Easton Stick, Football, North Dakota State

Omaha Coach of the Year

• Bruce Chubick, Basketball, Omaha South

• Derrin Hansen, Basketball, University of Nebraska Omaha

• Paul Limongi, Football, Omaha Burke

• Renee Saunders, Volleyball, Omaha Skutt

Omaha Sports Team of the Year

• Creighton Prep Swimming

• Duchesne Academy Girls Golf

• Millard North Girls Basketball, Soccer and Volleyball

• Omaha Burke Football

Omaha Sports Moment of the Year

• Mitch Ballock Breaks Creighton 3-Point Field Goal Record

• Bud Crawford Wins Four Boxing Titles

• Omaha Westside District Basketball Buzzer-Beater Shot

• Greg Zuerlein Kicks NFC Championship Game Winner

Steve Pivovar Sports Media Person of the Year

• Lee Barfknecht

• Kevin Kugler

• Dave Webber

Todd said the OSCAs will also recognize the Dr. Jack Lewis Sports Person of the Year.

“This will be a very special award given to an area leader whose contributions have raised the sports profile and improved the quality of sports events in the community,” Todd said. “In addition to recognizing the top amateur athletes, personalities and sports events in the city, we also will celebrate the induction of the latest Omaha Sports Hall of Fame class announced earlier this month.”

The 2019 Omaha Sports Hall of Fame class consists of athletes Angee Henry Nott (track and field) and Andre Woolridge (basketball), wrestling coach Brad Hildebrandt and the undefeated 1989 Millard South boys basketball team.

Todd said sponsorship opportunities for the OSCAs are available and the public is encouraged to be a part of the evening. Tickets are $55 and include the red-carpet walk, drinks/hors d’oeuvres reception and awards presentation. Tickets are available at and information on sponsorship opportunities can be directed to

Latest News

Latest News