Reynolds adds more Iowa counties to disaster proclamation

By  | 

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds has signed a disaster proclamation that would allow 15 additional counties in Iowa to be eligible for grant assistance to repair homes and cars and replace food or clothing caused by flash flooding.

Reynolds on Friday added the counties to the list eligible for state help to the 21 counties in northern and western Iowa she included in a disaster proclamation on Thursday.

Reynolds has also activated the state emergency operations center to coordinate the response to flooding and help monitor rapidly-evolving conditions.

The National Weather Service has issued flood warnings for portions of Iowa and says flooding of some roads and fields could continue into early next week.