Deadline for Federal Disaster Assistance Extended

FEMA has approved an extension of the deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance in the eight Iowa counties affected by the severe storms and flooding beginning March 12. The new deadline is Monday, July 1, 2019.

Residents in the following counties may be eligible for assistance from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration.:

  • Fremont
  • Harrison
  • Louisa
  • Mills
  • Monona
  • Pottawattamie
  • Shelby
  • Woodbury

There are four ways to register for disaster assistance prior to the extended deadline date:

  • Online at:
  • Visit a state/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center (DRC). Go online to to find the nearest location
  • Call 800-621-3362, voice/VP/711. Multilingual operators are on duty. TTY 800-462-7585. Phone lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time
  • Download the FEMA app

DRCs are located in Fremont and Mills counties at: 2014 290th Ave., Sidney, IA, 51545 and 111 Lacey St., Glenwood, IA 51537. The Fremont center is open Thursday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; the Mills center is open Monday through Wednesday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

A Mobile DRC is located in Shelby County at 500 East St., Shelby, IA 51570, open 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. This facility closes permanently at noon Saturday, May 11.

After submitting an application for FEMA, some flood victims may be referred to the SBA, whose deadline to apply for disaster recovery loan has been extended to July 1, as well.

Flood victims receiving federal disaster relief are also being reminded that those monies need to be spent for their intended purpose. Click here for details.