Special Election 2022: Flood to fill vacated 1st Congressional District seat

Flood, Pansing-Brooks selected for ballot to serve out remainder of Fortenberry’s term
Flood will serve in Washington until January.
Published: Jun. 28, 2022 at 5:26 PM CDT|Updated: Jun. 28, 2022 at 10:39 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

(WOWT) - Voters in Nebraska’s 1st Congressional District have been casting their votes to decide whether to send a Democrat or a Republican to Washington, D.C., to serve out the remaining days of the former representative’s term.

Jeff Fortenberry resigned his Congressional seat after a jury found him guilty of lying to the FBI. On the same day his replacement will be selected, he was sentenced Tuesday to probation and a $25,000 fine.

The state’s top Republicans chose State Sen. Mike Flood as their candidate for the special election. Flood has said his top priority for the term was to help Nebraskans suffering from high gas and grocery prices.

I'm deeply honored by the confidence and trust you've placed in me, and excited to get to work for Nebraska's 1st Congressional District! #NE01 #TeamFlood

Posted by Mike Flood for Congress on Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Nebraska’s top Democrats selected State Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks as their candidate for the office. In the lead-up to Tuesday, she said she believes the election is all about Nebraskans’ right to privacy after the Supreme Court struck down abortion rights.

A message from Patty Pansing Brooks on the results of the #NE01 special election:

Posted by Patty Pansing Brooks on Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Here’s how the unofficial results were shaping up, with all 414 precincts reporting:

  • Flood: 52.2%
  • Pansing-Brooks: 46.8%

Unofficial voter turnout for those eligible to cast ballots in the special election was 27.7%.

Polls were open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

The boundaries for the state’s 1st Congressional District don’t include Douglas County, but do include part of Sarpy County, which had 15.7% turnout for the vote. It also includes Cass, Dodge, and Lancaster counties as well as Butler, Colfax, Cuming, Madison, Platte, Seward, and Stanton counties, and part of Polk County as well.

Copyright 2022 WOWT. All rights reserved.