McDermott Again A Finalist For College Player Of The Year

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

The four finalists for the top individual honor in men’s college basketball were announced on Sunday. Creighton junior Doug McDermott is up for the Naismith Award for a second consecutive year.

The other candidates are Michigan sophomore Trey Burke, Indiana junior Victor Oladipo and Georgetown sophomore Otto Porter Jr. The four were chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors based on individual performances during the 2013 regular season. The winner of the Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year Trophy will be announced April 7th in Atlanta.

For the ninth consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the player of their choice and help determine the winner. Beginning Monday through April 6th, fans may cast their vote by calling **VOTE (**8683).*

McDermott, a 6-foot-8 forward, ranks second nationally in scoring (23.1) and finished the regular season with an average of 7.6 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game. The Bluejays won both the Missouri Valley Conference regular-season and tournament titles this season. He became the eighth player in league history to win back-to-back MVC Player of the Year accolades and is the second to win Most Outstanding Player honors at the MVC Tournament twice.

Burke, a 6-foot point guard, averaged 19.2 points and 3.2 rebounds during this year’s regular season and was named the Big Ten Player of the Year. He scored double figures in every game and 15 or more points in every Big Ten game. He scored less than 15 points in just two games. Burke’s 6.7 assists per game was 11th in the nation.

Oladipo, a 6-foot-5 guard, finished the regular season with an average of 13.7 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game. He and Porter are the only players from Power 6 conferences averaging at least 13 points, six rebounds, two assists and two steals. He was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

Porter, a 6-8 forward, claimed Big East Player of the Year honors and averaged 16.4 points, 7.4 rebounds and 2.7 assists per game during the season. The Hoyas finished the regular season with a share of the Big East conference title and a No. 2 seed in NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship.

Other notable Naismith Trophy alumni include a pair of three-time winners in Bill Walton (1972, ‘73, ‘74) and Ralph Sampson (1981, ‘82, ‘83), Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2007) and last year’s winner, Anthony Davis of Kentucky.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 199781251 -
Gray Television, Inc.