Bluejays, Cyclones NCAA Tournament-Bound

By: The Associated Press, Greg Ortiz Email
By: The Associated Press, Greg Ortiz Email
More Video...

Creighton will play Cincinnati to open the NCAA Tournament Friday in Philadelphia, it was announced Sunday afternoon during the NCAA Men's College Basketball Tournament Selection Show.

Game time will be announced later Sunday night. The winner of the Creighton-Cincinnati game will play next Sunday against the winner of Duke-Albany.

The Bluejays (27-7) are the No. 7 seed in the Midwest Region after sweeping the regular-season and postseason Missouri Valley Conference championship. Cincinnati (22-11) lost to Georgetown in the semifinals of the Big East Tournament and received a No. 10 seed.

"I like it, I think it is a good match-up for us,” said CU forward Doug McDermott. “It should be fun going out there to Philadelphia. Probably could have had a closer spot, but we are in the tournament playing against Cincinnati. It is a good draw for us."

"I am ready to go to Philadelphia, yeah,” said CU guard Grant Gibbs. “I thought it was a pretty decent draw. Obviously, Cincinnati is a tough team, a physical team, but overall I think we are pretty excited about it."

“Obviously, we knew we won the automatic bid so we knew our name was going to pop up,” said CU head coach Greg McDermott. “The day I am not excited on Selection Sunday to see my team’s name pop up is the day I'm done coaching. It is the pinnacle of your coaching career to get to this day and have your team selected. I am fortunate enough to do it multiple times."

Iowa State earned a No. 10 seed and will face Notre Dame in Dayton, Ohio on Friday. The Cyclones (22-11), led by third-year coach Fred Hoiberg, have earned back-to-back NCAA Tournament bids for the first time in 12 years.

Iowa State solidified its spot in the field by sweeping Oklahoma State and West Virginia to close out the regular season. The Cyclones then rallied to beat Oklahoma in the Big 12 Tournament before falling to Kansas.

Iowa State beat Connecticut in last year's NCAAs before falling to eventual national champion Kentucky.

Louisville, Kansas, Indiana and Gonzaga earned No. 1 seeds. Louisville is No. 1 overall and will play in the Midwest Region.

First-round games begin Tuesday. The Final Four will be played at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta April 6th and 8th.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 198698541 -
Gray Television, Inc.