Gregg Marshall Repeats as MVC Coach of the Year

ST. LOUIS - For the sixth time in school history, a Wichita State coach has won the MVC Coach of the Year award, as Wichita State men's head coach Gregg Marshall has earned the honor for 2012-13. He becomes the first Shocker head coach to win back-to-back Coach of the Year honors.

He received 23 of a possible 40 first-place tallies and 87 total points to outdistance Creighton's Greg McDermott (64 total points). Voting was conducted by league coaches, media and sports information directors. Notably, Barry Hinson of Southern Illinois finished third in the voting, despite the Salukis finishing in 10th place. It’s the highest finish in league history for a coach whose team finished in last place.

Marshall has guided Wichita State to a school-record fourth-straight campaign with 24 or more victories and a school-record tying fourth-consecutive season with 12 or more league wins.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 196193351 -
Gray Television, Inc.