Big Ten Announces 2016, 2017 Conference Schedules

The Big Ten Conference announced the conference football schedules for the 2016 and 2017 seasons on Thursday morning.

The schedules for those two seasons were recently approved and are the first to feature nine-game conference schedules.

Beginning in 2016, Nebraska will play each of the six other schools in the West Division, along with three rotating opponents from the East Division. The West Division consists of Nebraska, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin. The East Division includes Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers.

Nebraska will open the 2016 conference schedule on Oct. 1 against Illinois at Memorial Stadium. Nebraska will also welcome West Division foes Purdue (Oct. 22) and Minnesota (Nov. 12) to Lincoln, while traveling to Northwestern (Oct. 8), Wisconsin (Oct. 29) and Iowa (Friday, Nov. 25). In cross-division games, Nebraska will travel to Indiana (Oct. 15) and Ohio State (Nov. 5), while playing host to Maryland (Nov. 19) at Memorial Stadium. The 2016 match-up at Indiana will mark the first time the schools will square off as Big Ten opponents, while the visit from Maryland will be the first-ever meeting between the two schools.

Nebraska’s 2017 schedule will feature cross-division match-ups in Lincoln with Rutgers (Sept. 23) and Ohio State (Oct. 14), while Nebraska will travel to Penn State on Nov. 18. In West Division match-ups, Nebraska will host Wisconsin (Oct. 7), Northwestern (Nov. 4) and Iowa (Nov. 24), while traveling to Illinois (Sept. 30), Purdue (Oct. 28) and Minnesota (Nov. 11).

With Thursday’s announcement of the 2016 and 2017 schedules, Nebraska’s Big Ten schedules for 2013 to 2017 are finalized. The Big Ten announced the 2014 schedule in May and the 2015 slate in early June.

2016 Nebraska Big Ten Schedule
Oct. 1 Illinois
Oct. 8 at Northwestern
Oct. 15 at Indiana
Oct. 22 Purdue
Oct. 29 at Wisconsin
Nov. 5 at Ohio State
Nov. 12 Minnesota
Nov. 19 Maryland
Nov. 25 at Iowa

2017 Nebraska Big Ten Schedule
Sept. 23 Rutgers
Sept. 30 at Illinois
Oct. 7 Wisconsin
Oct. 14 Ohio State
Oct. 21 BYE
Oct. 28 at Purdue
Nov. 4 Northwestern
Nov. 11 at Minnesota
Nov. 18 at Penn State
Nov. 24 Iowa

Iowa's Big Ten schedule in 2016 will feature five road games and the Hawkeyes will host five league games the following season. The Hawkeyes will host Northwestern, Wisconsin, Michigan and Nebraska in 2016 and Illinois, Penn State, Minnesota, Ohio State and Purdue in 2017.

Iowa will face new Big Ten opponent Rutgers for the first time in 2016. Iowa and Nebraska's annual match-up will remain on the Friday after Thanksgiving in both 2016 and 2017.

The Hawkeyes open this season at home on August 31st against Northern Illinois.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 215124171 -
Gray Television, Inc.