Big Ten Announces 2014 Conference Football Schedule

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

The Big Ten announced the conference schedule for the 2014 football season Thursday morning.

The schedule will consist of eight games for each of the Big Ten’s 14 teams and will feature the debut of the East-West divisional alignment. Nebraska will play in the West Division along with Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin. The East will consist of Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers.

Each school will play the other six schools in its division plus two teams in the other division in 2014 and 2015 as the league schools will play an eight-game conference schedule. Beginning in 2016, each school will play three teams from the other division as part of its nine-game Big Ten schedule.

"With the addition of two new programs to the Big Ten Conference and with a new divisional alignment, we embark on a new era of Nebraska football,” said Nebraska Director of Athletics Shawn Eichorst. “Accommodating the changes for the 2014 schedule was challenging for the conference and for the member schools. Nebraska once again will host seven home games, which will include first-time visitors to Lincoln, Purdue and Rutgers. We are excited for this upcoming season and for the 2014 slate."

Nebraska will open the 2014 Big Ten schedule at home against Illinois on September 27th. In addition to Illinois, the Huskers will play host to West Division schools Purdue (November 1st) and Minnesota (November 22nd) at Memorial Stadium. Nebraska’s home cross-division opponent in 2014 will be Big Ten newcomer Rutgers, which visits Lincoln on October 25th. The game will be Rutgers’ first-ever trip to Lincoln and just the second all-time meeting between the schools (the first was in 1920 when NU won 28-0 at the Polo Grounds in New York City).

The Huskers’ Big Ten road schedule in 2014 includes games at West Division foes Northwestern (October 18th), Wisconsin (November 15th) and Iowa (Friday, November 28th). NU will play its cross-division road game in 2014 at Michigan State, traveling to East Lansing October 4th.

The 2014 Big Ten Championship Game will be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on December 6th.

In addition to the 2014 Big Ten schedule, Nebraska will play non-conference home games against Florida Atlantic (August 30th), McNeese State (September 6th) and Miami (September 20th). In non-conference play, Nebraska will travel to Fresno State September 13th.

2014 Nebraska Schedule
Aug. 30 Florida Atlantic
Sept. 6 McNeese State
Sept. 13 at Fresno State
Sept. 20 Miami
Sept. 27 Illinois
Oct. 4 at Michigan State
Oct. 11 BYE
Oct. 18 at Northwestern
Oct. 25 Rutgers
Nov. 1 Purdue
Nov. 8 BYE
Nov. 15 at Wisconsin
Nov. 22 Minnesota
Nov. 28 at Iowa
Dec. 6 Big Ten Championship Game

Iowa's Big Ten schedule includes one home game in the first five conference weekends and concludes with three November home games.

The Hawkeyes open the Big Ten slate with a divisional contest at Purdue on September 27th before their first bye week October 4th. The Hawkeyes open their Big Ten home schedule against Indiana on October 11th and visit College Park, Maryland for their first-ever meeting against Maryland on October 18th. Iowa finishes its October schedule with its second bye week on October 25th.

Iowa's five November games are all division match-ups, beginning with Northwestern on November 1st in Iowa City. The Hawkeyes then play back-to-back road games at Minnesota (November 8th) and Illinois (November 15th). Iowa's visit to Champaign represents the first game against the Illini since 2008. Iowa concludes the regular season with consecutive home trophy games against Wisconsin (November 22nd) and Nebraska (November 28th).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 207754831 -
Gray Television, Inc.