Walters Leads UNO Award Winners

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

All-American forward Ryan Walters was named the team's most valuable player as the Mavericks concluded the 2012-13 season with their annual team awards announced Friday.

Walters earned three of the year-end awards announced by head coach Dean Blais. He also was named the team's outstanding forward and its most consistent player for leading the team with a plus/minus rating of +26, a school record.

Walters was a top 10 finalist for the Hobey Baker Award by scoring 52 points (22-30-52) in 39 games. He finished tied for second in the nation in scoring. He finished as the WCHA's scoring champion with 16 goals and 24 assists for 40 points in 28 games and was named to the All-WCHA First Team and the All-WCHA Academic Team. He was also a WCHA scholar athlete and was a member of the All-College Hockey News First Team.

Walters' 52 points tied for the second highest single-season point total in school history with the school's all-time leading scorer, Scott Parse, who had seasons of 61 and 52 points as a junior and senior respectively. Walters' 22 goals are tied with David Brisson (2001-02) for fourth best in UNO history. He has earned 100 career points, one of just 13 Mavericks to reach that mark. Walters also has played in 114 consecutive games, missing only one in his UNO career.

Andrej Sustr was named UNO's outstanding defenseman. The junior led UNO defensemen in scoring and was fifth in team scoring with nine goals and 16 assists for 25 points, all career highs. He led the team with 55 blocked shots and was second with four power play goals. Sustr signed a free agent contract with the Tampa Bay Lightning following the season, foregoing his senior year.

Senior John Faulkner earned the team's Outstanding Goalie Award. He became UNO's all-time wins leader in 2012-13, earning his 54th victory. He finished the season with a record of 16-10-2 with a 2.97 goals-against average and a .891 save percentage. He was twice named the WCHA's Defensive Player of the Week. In addition to the wins mark, Faulkner finished his career ranked second at UNO in games played, minutes, saves and shutouts.

Freshmen Tanner Lane and Nick Seeler were named co-winners of the team's Rookie Of The Year Award. Seeler, a defenseman, led all UNO rookies in scoring with two goals and seven assists for nine points while Lane, who played all three forward positions, had two goals and four assists for six points.

Dominic Zombo received the team's Most Improved Player Award. After earning just three points as a freshman, Zombo scored 12 goals and 23 assists for 35 points to rank third in team scoring and second in assists this past season. He led the Mavericks with five game-winning goals and had the team's third-best plus-minus ratio, plus-20. He also played in all 41 games this season.

Co-captain Brent Gwidt picked up the Mike Rehmeier Biggest Heart Award for the second straight year. Gwidt scored a career-best eight goals and had five assists for 13 points while playing in 39 games. He was one of UNO's most gentlemanly players with just four penalties all season. Gwidt's senior season marked the second in which he had worn a letter for the Mavericks after serving as an alternate captain as a junior.

Goaltender Dayn Belfour was named the team's Seventh Man Award for best exemplifying team spirit, dedication, work ethic and the ability to overcome adversity throughout the season. Belfour played in just four games, posting a record of 1-1-0 with a 2.17 goals-against average and .911 save percentage. He earned his first career shutout with 10 saves at Alaska-Anchorage on February 15th.

Bryce Aneloski received the Student-Athlete Award for exhibiting academic excellence while contributing to team success. Aneloski was sixth in team scoring and second among defensemen with five goals and 16 assists for 21 points. The assist and point totals were career highs. Aneloski was named the campus' Scholar-Athlete Award winner at the Chancellor's Student Honors Convocation in early April.

Alex Simonson was the winner of the Blue Line Club Award for exceptional service to the Blue Line Club and UNO hockey. A junior, Simonson earned his first two career points in 18 games last season while playing primarily in a defensive capacity.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 204911781 -
Gray Television, Inc.