UNO's Walters Not A Hobey Baker Award Finalist

By: WOWT, The Associated Press Email
By: WOWT, The Associated Press Email

Maverick forward Ryan Walters was not among the three finalists announced Wednesday for the Hobey Baker Award, given annually to the nation's top Division I college hockey player.

Boston College's Johnny Gaudreau, Quinnipiac's Eric Hartzell and St. Cloud State's Drew LeBlanc were selected Wednesday as finalists. The Hobey Baker Foundation announced the names for college hockey's top individual honor. The winner will be revealed April 12th in Pittsburgh, site of this year's Frozen Four.

Gaudreau is a sophomore forward who led the Hockey East league in points and assists and was tied for second in the nation with six game-winning goals. Hartzell, a senior goalie, and LeBlanc, a senior forward, helped their teams reach the NCAA semifinals for the first time in the history of their programs. Hartzell has a 1.55 goals against average, third in the nation. LeBlanc leads the nation with 37 assists.

Walters was named to the All-College Hockey News First Team on Tuesday, one of five players from the Western Collegiate Hockey Association named to either the first or second team.

Walters had 52 points (22-30-52) this season. He scored points in 28 of the last 32 games (22-27-49). His plus/minus rating of +26 was a school record. He finished as the WCHA's scoring champion with 16 goals and 24 assists for 40 points and was named to the All-WCHA First Team and the All-WCHA Academic Team. He was also a WCHA Scholar Athlete.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 201307261 -
Gray Television, Inc.