Click here for Iowa tournament results.">

Two, Four-Time State Wrestling Champs Crowned In Iowa

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

-Click here for Iowa tournament results.

John Meeks and Cory Clark joined an elite group of Iowa high school wrestlers when they became four-time state champions Saturday night in Des Moines.

Meeks, a senior at Des Moines Roosevelt, beat Bettendorf's Connor Ryan 9-6 at 138 pounds in the Class 3A finals to finish 168-0 in his career, making him just the sixth Iowa prep to go unbeaten.

Clark, a senior at Southeast Polk, earned his fourth title with a 6-2 victory over Eric DeVos of Waverly-Shell Rock at 126 in Class 3A. He came within one match of an unbeaten career, finishing 179-1.

Meeks and Clark became the 20th and 21st Iowa wrestlers to win four state titles. Meeks is the first 3A wrestler to go unbeaten since Iowa City High's Jeff McGinness went 172-0 from 1990-93.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 139601863 -
Gray Television, Inc.