The Road To Omaha Begins

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

For the third straight year, five Atlantic Coast Conference schools will open the NCAA Division I baseball tournament at home.

Florida State, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia and Virginia Tech are among the 16 schools that were named hosts for the regionals Sunday night. The tournament begins Friday.

Four Southeastern Conference schools will be hosts: LSU, Mississippi State, South Carolina and Vanderbilt. Pac-12 schools playing at home will be Oregon, Oregon State and UCLA. Other host teams are Indiana, Cal State Fullerton, Louisville and Kansas State.

The rest of the 64-team field will be announced Monday by the Division I baseball committee. Regional winners advance to best-of-three Super Regionals beginning June 7th. The eight Super Regional winners move on to Omaha for the College World Series starting on June 15th.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 209022361 -
Gray Television, Inc.