Nebraska-Purdue, Iowa Northwestern In Big Ten Tournament

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

The Big Ten announced Sunday night the bracket for its conference tournament this week at the United Center in Chicago. The Huskers are a 10th seed and will play seventh seed Purdue on Thursday.

Indiana finished with a 14-4 record in conference play to win their 21st Big Ten Championship and first since sharing the title in 2002. The Hoosiers secured the top seed in the tournament while Ohio State, Michigan State and Wisconsin also earned first-round byes.

The Buckeyes and Spartans ended the season tied for second with 13-5 conference marks. The two teams split their regular season meetings, but Ohio State won the tiebreaker to earn the No. 2 seed based on a better record against Indiana.

The tournament tips off at 11 a.m. Thursday as No. 8 Illinois takes on No. 9 Minnesota followed by No. 5 Michigan facing No. 12 Penn State.

Thursday's second session tips off at 5:30 p.m. as No. 7 Purdue challenges No. 10 Nebraska before No. 6 Iowa squares off against No. 11 Northwestern.

The second day of the tournament tips off Friday with top-seeded Indiana battling the winner of Thursday's Illinois-Minnesota game at 11 a.m. to be followed by fourth-seeded Wisconsin playing the winner of the Michigan-Penn State match-up.

Friday’s second session begins with second-seeded Ohio State facing the victor of Thursday’s Nebraska-Purdue contest at 5:30 p.m. before the quarterfinals conclude with third-seeded Michigan State squaring off against the Iowa-Northwestern winner.

Big Ten Tournament semifinal games will be played Saturday beginning at 12:40 p.m. The championship game tips off at 2:30 p.m. Sunday.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 196788921 -
Gray Television, Inc.