McDermott is Finalist for Wooden Award

By: WOWT - Email
By: WOWT - Email

The 10-player John R. Wooden Award All American Team was announced today by The Los Angeles Athletic Club on the ESPNU show, Katz Korner. Selected by hundreds of college basketball media members and experts from throughout the country, the All American team is made up of the 10 student-athletes who received the most votes, with voters ranking the players from 1 to 10. All players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA, an important component of the Award insisted upon by Coach Wooden. In addition to the academic aspect, the Wooden Award is unique among college postseason awards because voters could consider performance during the first three rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The Women’s All American team will be released Wednesday.

The John R. Wooden Award Men’s Player of the Year presented by Wendy’s will be announced on ESPN during the Final Four Weekend in Atlanta. The 2013 Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy’s will take place April 11-13, 2013, at The Los Angeles Athletic Club. The Gala will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, All Americans and the Legends of Coaching Award winner, Kansas Head Coach Bill Self.

Creighton forward Doug McDermott is the only player on this year’s team who was a Wooden Award All American in 2012. He is the nation’s No. 2 scorer, at 23.2 ppg (as of March 29), and took the Bluejays to the third round of the NCAA Tournament. One Wooden All American is taking his team to the Final Four this season, Trey Burke of Michigan.

Indiana (Victor Oladipo and Cody Zeller) was the only program with more than one player selected to the team. The last time a school had two Wooden All Americans was 2010, when Kentucky’s DeMarcus Cousins and John Wall were chosen. The Big Ten had four selections, followed by the ACC with two. The Big East, Missouri Valley Conference, Big 12, and the WCC had one Wooden All American in 2013.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Danny Manning (’88), TJ Ford (’03), Candace Parker (’07 and ’08), Kevin Durant (’09) and Maya Moore (’09 and ‘11). Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis won the men’s Award in 2012.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award’s name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Gala.

WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 200975621 -
Gray Television, Inc.