McDermott Named NABC All American

Creighton forward Doug McDermott joined some elite company on Wednesday as he was named a First Team All-American by the National Association of Basketball Coaches for the third straight season.

Since the awards started in 1946-47, McDermott is just the 12th man to earn first team accolades three times, joining Ralph Beard, Tom Gola, Oscar Robertson, Jerry Lucas, Lew Alcindor, Pete Maravich, Bill Walton, David Thompson, Ralph Sampson, Patrick Ewing and Tyler Hansbrough.

McDermott is joined on the First Team by Arizona's Nick Johnson, Connecticut's Shabazz Napier, Duke's Jabari Parker and Michigan's Nik Stauskas. The recognitions are selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC and represent the finest basketball players across America.

McDermott leads the nation in scoring (26.7 ppg.) and points (934) while also ranking second in field goals made (330) and 10th in three-point percentage (.449). He scored a career-high 45 points on Senior Night on March 8th to become the eighth man in NCAA history to surpass 3,000 carer points, eventually finishing fifth all-time in scoring with 3,150 career points.

McDermott is Creighton's only player ever honored by the NABC on its first-team All-America squad. Paul Silas was a second-team choice in 1964, while Benoit Benjamin (1985) and Kyle Korver (2003) were third-team honorees.

Creighton finished the 2013-14 season with a 27-8 record before being eliminated in the third round of the NCAA Tournament on Sunday vs. Baylor.

The NABC will name its Player of the Year at the 2014 AT&T NABC Guardians of the Game Awards Show on Sunday, April 6th, in Dallas, Texas. McDermott has already been named National Player of the Year by Sporting News, USA Today, Dick Vitale, and this month.

Three-Time NABC First Team All-Americans
Ralph Beard, Kentucky, 1947-48-49
Tom Gola, La Salle, 1953-54-55
Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati, 1958-59-60
Jerry Lucas, Ohio State, 1960-61-62
Lew Alcindor, UCLA, 1967-68-69
Pete Maravich, LSU, 1968-69-70
Bill Walton, UCLA, 1972-73-74
David Thompson, North Carolina State, 1973-74-75
Ralph Sampson, Virginia, 1981-82-83
Patrick Ewing, Georgetown, 1983-84-85
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina, 2007-08-09
Doug McDermott, Creighton, 2012-13-14

Nick Johnson, Arizona, 6-3, 200, Junior, Guard, Gilbert, Ariz.
Doug McDermott, Creighton, 6-8, 225, Senior, Forward, Ames, Iowa
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut, 6-1, 180, Senior, Guard, Roxbury, Mass.
Jabari Parker, Duke, 6-8, 235, Freshman, Forward, Chicago, Ill.
Nik Stauskas, Michigan, 6-6, 205, Sophomore, Guard, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Cleanthony Early, Wichita State, 6-8, 219, Senior, Forward, Middletown, N.Y.
C.J. Fair, Syracuse, 6-8, 215, Senior, Forward, Baltimore, Md.
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati, 6-4, 210, Senior, Guard, Yonkers, N.Y.
Russ Smith, Louisville, 6-0, 165, Senior, Guard, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas, 6-8, 200, Freshman, Guard, Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

Julius Randle, Kentucky, 6-9, 250, Freshman, Forward, Dallas, Texas
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State, 6-4, 220, Sophomore, Guard, Flower Mound, Texas
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State, 5-11, 194, Sophomore, Guard, Rockford, Ill.
T.J. Warren, North Carolina State, 6-8, 215, Sophomore, Forward, Durham, N.C.
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, 6-2, 176, Senior, Guard, Winter Haven, Fla.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 252513231 -
Gray Television, Inc.