Manziel First Freshman To Win Heisman Trophy

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel won the Heisman Trophy, honored by the New York Athletic Club Saturday night as college football's best player of the year. He is the first freshman to win the award.

Manziel received 474 first-place votes. Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o finished second and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein was third.

Manziel broke 2010 Heisman winner Cam Netwon's Southeastern Conference record with 4,600 total yards this season, led the Aggies to a 10-2 record in their first SEC season and orchestrated an upset at No. 1 Alabama in November.

He is the second Texas A&M player to win the Heisman, joining John David Crow, who won it in 1957.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 182693271 -
Gray Television, Inc.