Ex-Husker Will Shields Fails To Make Hall Of Fame Cut

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

Bill Parcells, Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden and Warren Sapp were elected Saturday to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. They will be inducted this summer in Canton, Ohio.

The class of 2013 also includes a pair of senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson. The announcement was made in New Orleans, a day before the Super Bowl.

Five players were eliminated in the final vote, Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams. Earlier, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.

Shields played guard for Nebraska from 1989 to 1992, winning the Outland Trophy as the nation's best lineman in '92. He went on to play for the Kansas City Chiefs from 1993 to 2006 and was named to the Pro Bowl 12 times.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666 sixonline@wowt.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 189520361 - wowt.com/a?a=189520361
Gray Television, Inc.