Big Ten Adds Conference Game In 2017

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

Three teams each from the Legends Division and Leaders Division will feature five conference home games during odd-numbered years, while the other three schools from each division will host five conference contests during even-numbered years.

The 2017 schedule will include five conference home outings for Iowa, Michigan State and Nebraska from the Legends Division and Illinois, Indiana and Ohio State from the Leaders Division.

The 2018 schedule will feature five Big Ten home games for Michigan, Minnesota and Northwestern of the Legends Division and Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin of the Leaders Division.

The Big Ten will return to a full nine-game conference schedule for the first time since the 1983 and 1984 seasons. Eight of 10 conference schools played nine-game schedules during the 1981 and 1982 seasons, while two of 10 teams featured nine-game schedules from 1971-72 and 1977-80.

Iowa Athletic Director Gary Barta says the Big Ten's move to a nine-game league schedule shouldn't affect the Hawkeyes' annual matchup with Iowa State.

Barta says the Big Ten worked with Iowa regarding its series with Iowa State. Barta says that at this point the rivalry "will go forward without interruption."

Iowa and Iowa State have met every year since 1977. The Hawkeyes and Cyclones will face off in Ames on September 10th.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 126769863 -
Gray Television, Inc.