Another Player Of The Year Honor For McDermott

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

The National Association of Basketball Coaches has selected Creighton senior forward Doug McDermott as its National Player of the Year.

The recognition comes a week after McDermott became the 12th man in NABC history to be named a First Team All-American three times. Last Wednesday, McDermott joined Ralph Beard, Tom Gola, Oscar Robertson, Jerry Lucas, Lew Alcindor, Pete Maravich, Bill Walton, David Thompson, Ralph Sampson, Patrick Ewing and Tyler Hansbrough as the only three-time first team picks from the NABC. The awards date back to 1946-47.

McDermott leads the nation in scoring (26.7 ppg.) and points (934) while also ranking second in field goals made (330) and ninth in three-point percentage (.449) through games played as of April 1st.

He scored a career-high 45 points on Senior Night March 8th to become the eighth man in NCAA history to surpass 3,000 carer points, eventually finishing fifth all-time in scoring with 3,150 career points.

The NABC is the eighth different organization to honor McDermott as its National Player of the Year this season, joining, Sporting News, USA Today,,, Basketball Times and Dick Vitale.

McDermott, along with NABC Division II Player of the Year Brandon Jefferson (Metropolitan State University) and NABC Division III Player of the Year Aaron Walton-Moss (Cabrini College), will receive their awards Sunday night at the annual AT&T NABC Guardians of the Game Awards Show.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 253574271 -
Gray Television, Inc.