Who Wants To Be The Judge?

Eleven names on list for District Judge in the Second Judicial District. The vacancy is due to the retirement of the Honorable Randall L. Rehmeier who announced his retirement this past January. The 2nd Judicial District consists of Cass, Sarpy, and Otoe counties. The primary place of office for the judicial vacancy is Plattsmouth.

The Cassgram reports the second application period just closed. The first application period closed in the spring with two candidates. However, after a May public hearing, the Judicial Nominating Commission said only one of the candidates received a sufficient number of votes to advance his name to the Governor. The Nebraska Constitution requires that a nominating commission must present to the Governor “a list of at least two nominees” to fill a judicial vacancy.

(Hugh I. Abrahamson, Bellevue, and Jeffrey J. Funke, Nebraska City, were the two candidates who submitted their names during the first application period.)

Rehmeier has remained on the bench while the process of choosing his replacement continues.

Those on the list this time around again include Abrahamson and Funke. The other nine: Vicki L. Adams, Papillion; Jenniffer A. Panko-Rahe, Syracuse; George A. Thompson, Papillion; Steven S. Chase, Ryan K. Forrest, Jeffrey M. Kurtz, Julie A. Martin, Stefanie A. Martinez, and Margaret M. Zarbano, all of Omaha.

The public hearing of the Judicial Nominating Commission will be held in the Cass County Courthouse at 10am on Thursday, July 11th. The Commission will review all applicants for the office at that time. The public is welcome to attend the hearing and present information concerning candidates for the judicial opening.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666 sixonline@wowt.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 212755981 - wowt.com/a?a=212755981
Gray Television, Inc.