Stalemate On School Board Vote

Louisville school board stalemate resolved. At the January board meeting, the month when a school board president is normally chosen to meet state guidelines, Rhonda Sparks and Dean Mason were nominated. 141 votes were taken and each vote ended in a 3 to 3 tie. So through the evening were 423 votes for Sparks and 423 votes for Mason in two hours of voting. The board then voted to continue balloting at the February meeting and the 2012 vice president, Sparks, would serve as interim president until then. (Cassgram Archives 1/18/13)

According to the (pending) meeting minutes of this month’s meeting, both Mason and Sparks first removed their names from the nominations for president.

Mason then nominated Sparks for the office of president for a six month period to include January when she served as interim president and end the day after the June 2013 board meeting. The nominations closed and the vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

Sparks nominated Mason for president beginning the day after the June 2013 board meeting and continuing until the board reorganization in January 2014. That motion passed unanimously

Mason will serve as vice president for the first six months and then Sparks will be vice president after the June meeting.

In January, the Louisville board elected Bob Derby as secretary and Lois Sjogren as treasurer.

WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 191027591 -
Gray Television, Inc.