Republican Leadership In Iowa House Mostly Unchanged

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

The Republican leadership of the Iowa House will remain virtually unchanged for the upcoming legislative session.

House Republicans on Wednesday selected Rep. Kraig Paulsen of Hiawatha to continue as speaker of the House. Rep. Linda Upmeyer of Clear Lake will continue as majority leader. Also continuing in a leadership role is Rep. Steve Olson of DeWitt as speaker pro tem.

Rep. Chris Hagenow of Windsor Heights is the new majority whip. He replaces Rep. Erik Helland of Johnston, who lost in the GOP primary earlier this year.

Republicans have held a 60-40 majority in the House for the past two years. The GOP lost seven seats in last week's election. The margin is now 54 Republicans and 47 Democrats.

The Legislature convenes on January 14th.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179351051 -
Gray Television, Inc.