Obama Signs Disaster Declaration For Iowa Counties

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for five Iowa counties damaged by severe weather in early April.

The announcement Monday means the counties of Dickinson, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola and Sioux will get federal funding under a public assistance program. Funding can be used for emergency repairs, essential government functions and grants for public schools.

The severe weather between April 9 and 11 included strong winds, heavy rain, thunderstorms, freezing rain, ice and snow. It damaged utility lines, poles, trees and vegetation.

The declaration puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs. Some are matched by state programs and designed to help public entities and certain non-profits. Gov. Terry Branstad requested the declaration on April 26.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666 sixonline@wowt.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 206395911 - wowt.com/a?a=206395911
Gray Television, Inc.