March 1 Deadline for OPS School Board Candidates

Eight people filed paperwork on Tuesday as candidates for the new Omaha Public Schools school board. State lawmakers reduced the board from 12-to-9 members earlier in the month.

Of the eight candidates so far, five are incumbents. More candidates are expected to file before the March 1 deadline.

Here are the candidates so far: James M English, District 1 (lost to Freddie Gray in November); Niokia T Stewart, District 2;
Eric L Ewing and Justin T Wayne (I) for District 4; Jennifer Tompkins Kirshenbaum (I), District 5; Nancy Kratky (I), District 6; Danyelle Baratta (I), District 7; and Sarah Brumfield (I), District 9.

New members Kirshenbaum, Baratta and Brumfield were elected in November.

The primary is April 2. The general election is May 14.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 191951311 -
Gray Television, Inc.