Iowa Democratic Party Elects New Leaders

By: The Associated Press Email
By: The Associated Press Email

The Iowa Democratic Party has named its new leaders. State Rep. Tyler Olson was elected as state party chairman on Friday and Troy Price was named the party's new executive director.

Olson, of Cedar Rapids, was recently re-elected to his fourth term in the Iowa House where he serves as ranking member of the Appropriations Committee.

Price most recently served as political director for the Obama campaign in Iowa in 2012. Before that, he was executive director of One Iowa, the state's largest LGBT advocacy organization. He also has served in the administrations' of former Iowa governors Tom Vilsack and Chet Culver.

Olson and Price replace former state party chairwoman Sue Dvorsky and former executive director Norm Sterzenbach, who both announced they were stepping down last month.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 188507671 -
Gray Television, Inc.