Governor Names Garrett To Sarpy State Legislature Seat

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

Nebraska Gov. Dave Heineman Wednesday announced the appointment of retired Col. Tommy L. Garrett to represent District 3 in the Nebraska Legislature.

The vacancy was due to State Sen. Scott Price's resignation, effective November 1st.

The 59-year-old Garrett is founder and president of a Bellevue company that specializes in defense contracting and is a 26-year veteran of the Air Force.

“I am pleased to appoint Tommy," said Gov. Heineman. "He shares Nebraskan’s values and is excited to represent the people of this district. He is a hard-working, fiscally conservative family man who has a proven record of public service and job creation. I appreciate his service to our country and willingness to serve Nebraskans.”

“I believe that public service is a way of life and I will work hard representing the conservative values of the people in my community,” said Garrett. “As a business owner, I know what it takes to create jobs and the importance that has on working Nebraska families every day. These are the people I will serve and be responsible to as we continue to create jobs here in Nebraska. I truly appreciate this opportunity.”

Legislative District 3 encompasses a portion of Sarpy County. Garrett will serve until January 6, 2015 with the seat up for election to a two-year term in November 2014.

Last Friday, Gov. Heineman announced the appointment of Patrick M. Shannon of Bellevue to replace Price. Within hours, Shannon withdrew his name, saying his father had suffered a heart attack in Oklahoma. The withdrawal also followed news that Shannon owes the state $16,000 for campaign-disclosure violations during an unsuccessful bid for the Legislature in 2004.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 235430061 -
Gray Television, Inc.