Five Iowa Legislators Resign Following Redistricting

Five Iowa state senators have turned in their resignations.

Iowa law says that after redistricting, senators placed in the same district face an election instead of finishing their four-year terms.

If one resigns by the first Wednesday in February, the other may finish out his or her term without an election.

Published reports reveal that of the five who resigned Wednesday, two incumbents from the other party benefited.

The resignation of Sen. Pat Ward, R-West Des Moines, means Sen. Matt McCoy, D-Des Moines, won't have to stand for election. The resignation of Senate President Jack Kibbie, D-Emmetsburg, means
Republican David Johnson, of Ocheyedan, won't face election.

The resignations are effective in January 2013. Legislators in the House don't face the problem because they serve two-year terms.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 138565639 -
Gray Television, Inc.