U.S. Push Championships

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

Elana Meyers, Nick Cunningham and rookie Aja Evans won titles Friday in the U.S. bobsled push-start championships.

Meyers' combined time of 9.51 seconds topped the women's pilot event, and Cunningham (8.99) took the men's pilot title. Evans (9.65) prevailed in the women's push-athlete competition.

Also competing in the women's push event: Three veterans of U.S. women's Olympic track teams, with Hyleas Fountain fourth (10.01), Tianna Madison tied for fifth (10.04), and Lolo Jones tied for seventh place (10.11).

U.S. coach Todd Hays says he invited Fountain, Madison and Jones to compete so they could "share their Olympics experiences with our athletes and to help boost team morale."

The men's push-athlete competition is Saturday. U.S. bobsled, skeleton and luge athletes start on-ice training in Lake Placid on Oct. 15.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666 sixonline@wowt.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 172863551 - wowt.com/a?a=172863551
Gray Television, Inc.