Relief For Farmers

Drought disaster relief is now available to Cass County farmers. Seventy-six Nebraska counties now have a primary designation. Cass County becomes eligible as a contiguous county.

The Cassgram reports Farm Service Agency State Executive Director Dan Steinkruger announced an additional 15 counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought. Cass County was among 10 counties eligible under the contiguous clause.

In response to the expanding ongoing drought conditions affecting crop and livestock producers across Nebraska, USDA has implemented various actions and programs. Specifically, counties have been allowed to emergency hay and graze CRP acres and Emergency (EM) Loans are authorized for eligible producers.

"As conditions continue to deteriorate, producers are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated Secretarial disaster designations," said Steinkruger.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 166410036 -