Officers of the Year Honored

Six Omaha Police officers were honored Thursday for their work in helping to crack two major cases. They were awarded Officer of the Year honors at a luncheon.

Dozens gathered for the ceremony to salute the honorees.

Officers of the Year

The event took place at the annual Crime Stoppers luncheon attended by the mayor and the police chief who spoke before handing out the awards.

Four of the honorees won the award for their work leading to the arrest of accused serial killer Anthony Garcia. Those officers are Ryan Davis, Nicholas Herfordt, Derek Mois and Scott Warner

The other two officers were honored to for their work on the case of accused killer Nikko Jenkins. Those officers are Michael Dose and David Schneider.

OPD Detective Scott Warner said, “It's humbling. There's a multitude of officers that worked on this case, certainly as deserving as the ones that were honored today. And just appreciative to have a day where you are recognized by your fellow officers."

We also can't forget about officers' families. The chief thanked them saying their support allows officers to weather the ups and downs of police work.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 251320771 -