Nebraska State Patrol Graduates 55th Recruit Class

The Nebraska State Patrol graduated 19 members of the 55th Basic Recruit Class after 23 weeks of training at the NSP Training Academy in Grand Island this morning.

The ceremony was held in the Rotunda of the Nebraska State Capitol complete with remarks provided by Governor Dave Heineman, Attorney General Jon Bruning and Nebraska State Patrol Superintendent, Colonel David Sankey. The Oath of Office was administered by Secretary of State John Gale.

Their instruction involved 1,187 hours and 70 exams including both written and practical. Fourteen new troopers are assigned to Traffic in the Field Services Division, while five graduates are assigned to the Carrier Enforcement Division.

Recruit Jeremiah Foster received the Superintendent’s Leadership Award, while the D.R. Shearer Marksmanship Award was given to Recruit Luke Kelly. Recruit Veronica Jones received the O.H. Witt Academic Achievement Award and the R. J. Buchholz Physical Fitness Award was presented to recruit Adam Young. Recruit Amanda Hunt received the State Trooper Association of Nebraska (STAN) Award. The newly badged officers will now undergo six months of on-the-job instruction with veteran troopers in the field.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 268639802 -
Gray Television, Inc.