Jochum Selected To Be Iowa Senate's Next President

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Democrats have chosen Dubuque Sen. Pam Jochum to be the Iowa Senate's next president.

Jochum will succeed retiring Sen. Jack Kibbie, D-Emmetsburg.

The Senate president presides over the chamber and issues rulings on whether amendments to bills are germane.

Jochum served 16 years in the Iowa House before being elected to the Senate in 2008.

The 26 Democrats who make up the Iowa Senate's incoming majority re-elected Sen. Mike Gronstal, of Council Bluffs, to remain majority leader.

The Democrats named Steve Sodders, of State Center, to be president pro tempore; Joe Bolkcom, of Iowa City, as majority whip; and Matt McCoy, of Des Moines, Wally Horn, of Cedar Rapids, Bill Dotzler, of Waterloo, and Amanda Ragan, of Mason City, as assistant majority leaders.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179941811 -
Gray Television, Inc.