It’s a Guarantee: New Faces in Nebraska Politics

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

It’s a sure thing that we will see new faces in Nebraska politics later this year. That’s because the deadline for incumbents to file for re-election was Tuesday and some have decided to move on.

Of course, Governor Dave Heineman is among those who are moving on. Term limits took care of that.

However, those who will no longer hold their current seats include Attorney General Jon Bruning, State Auditor Mike Foley, and U.S. Senator Mike Johanns. None of them filed for re-election by Tuesday’s deadline. Bruning and Foley are both running for governor. Johanns had previously announced he would not run for re-election.

Non-incumbent candidates seeking any elected position have until March 3 to file.

Congressmen Lee Terry, Jeff Fortenberry, and Adrian Smith all met the deadline for re-election. As of Tuesday, Fortenberry and Smith face a challenger in the primary election, which is May 13.

For the latest list of candidates who have filed, CLICK HERE.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 246181671 -
Gray Television, Inc.