County Board Will Get Some News Faces

Two new county board members will be needed in Cass County.

The Cassgram reports Ron Nolte of Murray is announcing that he will file as a candidate to serve District 2 in the Nebraska Legislature. That will put someone new in his District 5 seat on the Cass County Board of Commissioners. A few months ago, District 4 Commissioner Dave Nielsen of Weeping Water announced he will not seek re-election.

The candidate filing window does not open again for a few weeks, but Nolte said he wanted to make the announcement now so that those interested in the District 5 seat are aware of his status and can begin their planning.

Nolte said it has been his plan for the last few months to run for state legislature. Had Dave Pankonin not resigned earlier this month, “I would have run for re-election to the county board next year and then filed for election for District 2 State Senator when Senator Pankonin termed out in 2014.” However, Pankonin resigned to devote more time to family business interests in Louisville and Governor Dave Heineman chose Paul Lambert, who had been mayor of Plattsmouth, to fill the District 2 slot for 2012.

There were twelve applicants for the legislative seat, Nolte was among them.

Because of the timing of Pankonin’s resignation, a shortened two-year term for the District 2 legislative position will appear on the 2012 ballot. In the 2014 elections, District 2 will return to the regular four year election cycle.

The governor was clear that a firm intention to run for District 2 seat in 2012 was necessary to be considered for the appointment.

Lambert confirmed Tuesday that he will be a candidate for legislature in 2012.

Cass County Commissioner District 5 is defined as of all of North Rock Bluff Precinct, South Rock Bluff Precinct, West Rock Bluff Precinct, Mount Pleasant Precinct, Liberty Precinct, Nehawka Precinct; also, the portion of Avoca Precinct east of 132nd Street including all area lying within the corporate limits of the Village of Avoca.

For those interested in becoming a candidate for District 5, the filing window is December 1st, 2011 to March 1st, 2012 and the filing fee is $222.85, 1% of the 2013 commissioner salary. Contact the election commissioner’s office at 402-296-9309 with questions or if you stop in the office, note that the election commissioner’s office has completed the move to 201 Main Street in Plattsmouth.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 132144228 -
Gray Television, Inc.