American Cancer Society Awards Scholarships

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

Childhood Cancer Survivor Scholarships are awarded to students with a history of childhood cancer. This award gives young cancer survivors the opportunity to pursue an undergraduate degree from an accredited university, college, vocational or trade school.

In 2011, the High Plains Division of the American Cancer Society (including the states of Texas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska and Hawai’i) awarded 100 scholarships for a total of $50,000.

This year’s recipients from Nebraska are:

Letti Connelly, Lincoln, will attend Peru State University
Lacey Gerbig, Lincoln, will attend Bryan LGH College of Health Sciences
Courtney Hedgpeth, Lincoln, will attend Doane College
Courtni Kopietz, Omaha, will attend the University of Nebraska-Omaha
Kim Patterson, Omaha, will attend Rockhurst University
Abby Walker, Valley, will attend Truman State University

The American Cancer Society’s Relay For Life events are the major source of these scholarship funds.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 125966123 -
Gray Television, Inc.