Nebraska Counties Designated As Disaster Areas

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Kimball and Morrill counties in Nebraska as natural disaster areas because of losses caused by severe winter weather.

The USDA made the announcement on Monday.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Nebraska also qualify for disaster assistance: Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan and Sioux counties.

Qualified farmers are eligible for low-interest loans. They have eight months to apply for loans to help cover part of their losses.

Other programs are also available, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program, the Emergency Conservation Program and ones dealing with crop insurance

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 93402729 -
Gray Television, Inc.