Mayor, Council Seats On Council Bluffs Ballot

Council Bluffs will hold its primary election tomorrow, Tuesday, October 6th. The office of mayor and two seats on the city council are up for grabs.

Voters will help narrow the list of candidates who will appear on the November 3rd general election ballot. Helen Wilson and Matt Hartfield are trying to unseat long-time mayor Tom Hanafan.

Hartfield is a small business owner and says he will be in touch with the community. "I really listen to people and what they want in the community. And that's how I'm trying to promote myself. Really listen to people, seeing what their ideas are, and then going on that to try and promote that.”

As mayor, Helen Sullivan wants to change the city's image. But the main reason she is a candidate is she feels called by God to run for mayor. "I would like to be mayor. But win or lose I'm still a winner because I have the Lord Jesus Christ with me. And I love Him. And that's why I'm doing it because I want to be obedient to Him."

Tom Hanafan has been mayor of Council Bluffs since 1988. "I've got a record. And I live and die off that record. And what I've tried to do over the last 20 years is improve the city, make it a better place for people to live; a better place for people to move to."

The Pottawattamie County Auditor, Marilyn Jo Drake only expects about 2,000 people to vote tomorrow. That would be a five percent voter turnout. "We are notoriously negligent during primary elections. They'll get out for the big one in November. November 3rd they'll all get out and vote. And that should be a pretty nice turnout."

She expects about 10 percent voter turnout on November 3rd.

Tuesday’s election will narrow the field to two candidates for mayor and four candidates for the two open city council seats.

Polls are open tomorrow from 7a.m. to 8p.m.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 63555737 -
Gray Television, Inc.