Blizzard Smacks Omaha, Moves East

By: WOWT Email
By: WOWT Email

Nebraska counties covered by the warning include:

  • Burt
  • Butler
  • Cass
  • Colfax
  • Dodge
  • Douglas
  • Gage
  • Johnson
  • Lancaster
  • Nemaha
  • Otoe
  • Pawnee
  • Richardson
  • Saline
  • Sarpy
  • Saunders
  • Seward
  • Washington
Iowa counties include:
  • Fremont
  • Harrison
  • Mills
  • Montgomery
  • Page
  • Pottawattamie
  • Shelby

The WOWT Weather Authority has designated Thursday a weather alert day as a strong winter storm continues to impact areas of the Channel 6 News viewing area.

As forecast, blizzard conditions persisted through much of the night Wednesday as a strong storm dumped between 5 and 8 inches of snow across a wide area. The storm knocked down power lines, closed some roads and made driving treacherous. High winds and blowing snow continue to make travel difficult.

All the major school districts in the Omaha metro closed. A number of major businesses and government organizations announced late starts for Thursday.

Any flights out of Eppley Airfield before 8:30 a.m. Thursday were canceled and delays were still expected for arrivals and departures later in the day.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WOWT NBC Omaha 3501 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68131 (402) 346-6666
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 183843491 -
Gray Television, Inc.